Frequently Asked Boating Questions

A DNR approved Boat Rental Education Certificate is required by the law.  The DNR Boat Rental Education Certificate can be obtained at  We highly recommend all drivers completed this course prior to check in.  All Drivers must have this certificate and their Driver’s License with them on the day of the rental; if not then your rental departure will be delayed until you have a driver that complies with Georgia Law.  Out of state boating safety certificates with NASBLA symbol on them are acceptable.

Optional: if you want a Georgia Boaters Safety license there are several free boating safety courses that can be found online similar to, or These websites will provide you with the boating safety licenses and tips to make your day on the lake an enjoyable one.

Unfortunately, we require everyone who rents or drives our rental vessel to be 21 years of age with a minimum of two years of experience.  All Driver/Operators must participate in a “Driver’s Orientation” where we go over detailed operating procedures, Georgia boating laws and regulations. As a reminder, we go over with you how to locate and understand navigational markers, as well as boater’s safety and etiquette.

With our instructions, it will be easy.

We provide you with a lake map and give you detailed instructions on how to use it.

This depends on the size and type of boat rented.

Sorry, this is not a service we offer through our business. There are captain services available on the on the lake which you could select. Please check our “Lake Links” tab for ones our past renters have used.

Yes. However, you must have a designated driver at least 21 years of age with a valid driver’s license. Remember, BUI laws are the same on water as DUI laws are on land with the exception of the “no open container” law. No kegs are permitted.

No! We do not allow grilling on our boats. There are, however, several day-use parks around the lake that are equipped with grills and picnic tables. We can point you in the right direction.

Yes! All of our boats have Bimini tops which provide shade over at least 50 percent of the seating area. Don’t want shade! No problem. We can fold back the top for you.

Absolutely! We have tubes, skis, kneeboards and wakeboards. We also rent Bluetooth speakers so you can enjoy your preferred music.

No, we do not offer insurance at this time. The Renter is responsible for any damages. Please check your homeowner’s or auto insurance for possible coverage.

Each boat leaves the dock with a full tank of fuel. Upon returning, we will refuel your boat. You will be responsible for the amount of fuel consumed during your rental.

It is next to impossible to quote an average. Fuel consumption varies by type of craft, usage, weight, water and wind conditions. We can tell you the size of the gas tank for the craft you are renting and the current price of gas in the marina on that day.

If you are older than 16 or younger than 65, you do need a fishing license. We do not sell them at our rental location. You can obtain one on line at or call (800) 366-2661. Also bait and tackle stores, as well as Wal-Mart sell them.

We always recommend you bring a fully charged cell phone in case of emergencies. Don’t forget a cooler full of food and drinks, as well as sunscreen

Lake Links:

Waivers & Participant Agreement Form

To help speed up the check-in process please complete the form below and have all participants sign before arriving at our office.